Governor issues disaster declaration for 9 Texas counties after tornadoes

Posted at 4:08 PM, Apr 17, 2019
and last updated 2019-04-17 22:39:36-04

The Governor of Texas issued a disaster declaration for nine Texas counties after tornadoes hit this past weekend.

Counties included in the declaration are Cherokee, Freestone, Houston, Leon, Madison, Nacogdoches, San Augustine, Shelby and Robertson.

An EF-3 tornado hit the city of Franklin on Saturday, resulting in many people losing their homes. However, no one died as a result of the tornado.

The tornado formed in Milam County and crossed in Robertson County, reaching wind speeds of 140 mph, according to the National Weather Service.

After the storms 4,000 people were without power. Damage estimates 55 residents homes have been destroyed. Approximately a couple duplexes, two churches and four businesses. About 20 square blocks have been destroyed.

The city of Alto was also hit by a tornado, and two children were killed in nearby Angelina County after a tree fell on the car they were in.