FEMA approves 31 additional counties for Major Disaster Declaration for Individual Assistance.

FEMA temporary housing units available for sale to some Hurricane Harvey survivors
Posted at 3:42 PM, Feb 22, 2021
and last updated 2021-02-22 16:42:05-05

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved an additional 31 counties have been added to the President's Major Disaster Declaration for Individual Assistance.

Governor Greg Abbott announced the additions Monday.

Abbott initially requested Individual Assistance for all 254 Texas counties on February 13. On February 20, the White House partially approved the state's request for a Major Disaster Declaration. The partial approval included Individual Assistance in 77 counties and for Public Assistance (Emergency Protective Measures Only) in all 254 counties.

The release states additional counties will continue to be re-requested as the state receives damage reports.

Texans are urged to fill out the Texas Division of Emergency Management's Texas Individual Assistance Reporting Tool to help the state identify damage.

"I thank FEMA for their swift approval of these additional counties and for their continued partnership as we ensure Texans have access to relief following the winter storm," said Governor Abbott. "I urge Texans to use the Texas Individual Assistance Reporting Tool so that the state can continue to identify damages and fight for the crucial assistance that our communities need."

The new counties included are:

  • Anderson
  • Austin
  • Bosque
  • Bowie
  • Burnet
  • Cherokee
  • Colorado
  • Erath
  • Fannin
  • Freestone
  • Gonzales
  • Grayson
  • Gregg
  • Harrison
  • Hill
  • Houston
  • Hunt
  • Jackson
  • Jim Wells
  • Jones
  • Limestone
  • Lubbock
  • Medina
  • Milam
  • Navarro
  • Rusk
  • Taylor
  • Tom Green
  • Val Verde
  • Washington
  • Wood