Abbott: TDEM re-requested an additional 54 counties be added to federal Major Disaster Declaration

Abbott winter weather
Posted at 4:59 PM, Feb 25, 2021
and last updated 2021-02-25 17:59:51-05

The Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) has re-requested that an additional 54 counties be added to the federal Major Disaster Declaration, Governor Greg Abbott announced Thursday.

On February 18, the governor requested Individual Assistance for all 254 Texas counties. The White House partially approved the request for a Major Disaster Declaration on February 20.

The partial approval included Individual Assistance in 77 counties and for Public Assistance (Emergency Protective Measures Only) in all 254 counties.

On Monday, TDEM re-requested an additional 31 counties to be added to the Major Disaster Declaration for Individual Assistance. That request was approved by FEMA.

"Our partnership with FEMA and the Biden Administration has opened up crucial resources for several of our communities — but there are still many counties who need this federal assistance as they recover from this winter storm," said Governor Abbott. "I ask FEMA to quickly grant this request so that we can ensure access to the relief that Texans need in the wake of this disaster."

The governor says additional counties will continue to be re-requested as the state receives damage reports.

Texans are encouraged to fill out TDEM's form to help the state identify damage.

The Counties included in Thursday's request include:

  • Archer
  • Atascosa
  • Bandera
  • Brooks
  • Callahan
  • Camp
  • Cass
  • Clay
  • Coleman
  • Delta
  • Dimmit
  • Duval
  • Eastland
  • Ector
  • Fayette
  • Franklin
  • Frio
  • Goliad
  • Hamilton
  • Haskell
  • Howard
  • Irion
  • Jack
  • Jim Hogg
  • Karnes
  • Kerr
  • Kinney
  • Kleberg
  • Lamar
  • Lampasas
  • Lee
  • Leon
  • Live Oak
  • Llano
  • Marion
  • Midland
  • Mills
  • Morris
  • Newton
  • Rains
  • Randall
  • Refugio
  • Robertson
  • San Augustine
  • San Saba
  • Shackelford
  • Somervell
  • Starr
  • Titus
  • Trinity
  • Webb
  • Wilbarger
  • Willacy
  • Young