Baylor Men’s Tennis Earns ITA All-Academic Team Award - KXXV Central Texas News Now

Baylor Men’s Tennis Earns ITA All-Academic Team Award


Baylor men’s tennis has been named an ITA All-Academic Team for the 10th consecutive year, announced by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Tuesday. The organization also named Jimmy Bendeck, Luke De Jong, Will Little, Bjoern Petersen and Tyler Stayer as ITA Scholar-Athletes.

Dating back to the 2008 season, Baylor has been recognized each year as a team and had at least two players recognized by the organization. BU is one of only four teams ranked in the ITA top 10 to earn this academic honor.

“This award speaks to what this tennis program is all about,” head coach Matt Knoll said. “It’s all about the guys we have here, competing both on the court and in the classroom. We’re trying to build Champions for Life. We’re looking for well-rounded guys that want to achieve in all areas.”

To be eligible, the Bears needed a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above.

Individually, Bendeck and Stayer are now two-time honorees, and De Jong, Petersen and Stayer received their first ITA recognition after maintaining a 3.50 GPA for the recently completed academic year.

Bendeck and Stayer are now the ninth and 10th players in program history to be named an ITA Scholar-Athlete at least twice in their careers.

To earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must also be a varsity letter winner, and have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters.

Powered by Frankly