SportsBaylor Bears


Cox, Mulkey continue to move on to narrowing Naismith Awards Lists

Posted at 11:34 PM, Mar 13, 2019
and last updated 2019-03-14 00:34:17-04

WACO, TX — The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced the 2019 Naismith Women's Defensive Player of the Year four finalists and the 10 semifinalists for the 2019 Naismith Women's College Coach of the Year Award Tuesday, and Baylor's Lauren Cox and Kim Mulkey made each list, respectively.

Cox joined last season's award winner Teaira McCowan of Mississippi State, California's Kristine Anigwe and Purdue's Ae'Rianna Harris as the final four players in consideration.

Bona announces the award April 5 and the winner will be honored at her school at a later date.

Cox is a two-time Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year, leads the Big 12 in blocks and blocks per game while also averaging a team best 8.2 rebounds per contest for the No. 1 ranked Lady Bears.

Mulkey is joined by Geno Auriemma (UConn), Lisa Bluder (Iowa), Amanda Butler (Clemson), Kelly Graves (Oregon), Carolyn Kieger (Marquette), Muffet McGraw (Notre Dame), Wes Moore (North Carolina State), Vic Schaefer (Mississippi State) and Jeff Walz (Louisville) on the semifinalist list.

The 19th year head coach just led Baylor to its 10th regular season and 10th Big 12 Championship Tournament title, and Mulkey is expected to lead the Lady Bears to a No. 1 overall seed entering into the NCAA Tournament with a 31-1 record. March 21, the field will be narrowed to four names.