Falls County Jail passes re-inspection - KXXV Central Texas News Now

Falls County Jail passes re-inspection

(Source: KXXV) (Source: KXXV)
FALLS COUNTY, TX (KXXV) -

The Falls County Jail is now in compliance with state jail standards, according to Sheriff Ricky Scaman.

Scaman said inspectors re-inspected the facility Friday afternoon after the jail failed an inspection on April 24, 2017. The Texas Commission on Jail Standards failed the jail for life safety which includes equipment, training, and drills.

“Our log books weren't up to date, our air packs were expired and our staff did not respond to the fire drill appropriately,” Scaman said.

The air packs expired in 2015. Since the April inspection, the air packs have been replaced and 6 more have been purchased.

“We’ve been working hard to stay in compliance in all areas,” Scaman said.

Scaman and his team have also put procedures in place and created binders with the information on those procedures.

Inspectors were at the facility today to re-inspect the areas that failed the previous inspection.

“We passed. We knew we were going to pass,” Scaman said.

News Channel 25 tried to ask the state inspector about Friday’s inspection, but he would not comment.

Scaman said staff members responded to a fire alarm within 45 seconds with the proper equipment on Friday during a fire drill.

Since making the necessary changes, Scaman and his staff have been hard at work to keep the facility above standards.

"We're going to continue to do the best we can and we're going to continue to provide quality law enforcement to the citizens of falls county,” Scaman said.

Copyright 2017 KXXV. All rights reserved. 

  • NewsMore>>

  • Kansas governor concedes GOP primary to secretary of state

    Kansas governor concedes GOP primary to secretary of state

    Tuesday, August 14 2018 1:36 PM EDT2018-08-14 17:36:01 GMT
    Wednesday, August 15 2018 1:11 AM EDT2018-08-15 05:11:02 GMT
    (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall). Board of County Commissioners chairman Ed Eilert checks his cell phone following the Johnson County Board of Canvassers meeting, Monday, Aug. 13, 2018, in Olathe, Kan. County election officials across Kansas on Monday beg...(AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall). Board of County Commissioners chairman Ed Eilert checks his cell phone following the Johnson County Board of Canvassers meeting, Monday, Aug. 13, 2018, in Olathe, Kan. County election officials across Kansas on Monday beg...

    Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach has slightly widened his lead over Gov. Jeff Colyer in the state's Republican primary for governor.

    More >>

    Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach has slightly widened his lead over Gov. Jeff Colyer in the state's Republican primary for governor.

    More >>
  • 'Touch the sun': NASA spacecraft hurtles toward our star

    'Touch the sun': NASA spacecraft hurtles toward our star

    Sunday, August 12 2018 3:36 AM EDT2018-08-12 07:36:08 GMT
    Wednesday, August 15 2018 1:08 AM EDT2018-08-15 05:08:14 GMT
    (Bill Ingalls/NASA via AP). The Mobile Service Tower is rolled back to reveal the United Launch Alliance Delta IV Heavy rocket with the Parker Solar Probe onboard, Saturday, Aug. 11, 2018, Launch Complex 37 at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Fla. A...(Bill Ingalls/NASA via AP). The Mobile Service Tower is rolled back to reveal the United Launch Alliance Delta IV Heavy rocket with the Parker Solar Probe onboard, Saturday, Aug. 11, 2018, Launch Complex 37 at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Fla. A...

    NASA has launched a spacecraft to the sun that will fly closer to our star than anything ever before.

    More >>

    NASA has launched a spacecraft to the sun that will fly closer to our star than anything ever before.

    More >>
  • White House called toxins contamination 'PR nightmare'

    White House called toxins contamination 'PR nightmare'

    Monday, August 13 2018 1:38 AM EDT2018-08-13 05:38:00 GMT
    Wednesday, August 15 2018 1:07 AM EDT2018-08-15 05:07:56 GMT
    Officials are demanding that the EPA act quickly to clean up local water systems testing positive for dangerous levels of PFAS. (Source: Raycom Media)Officials are demanding that the EPA act quickly to clean up local water systems testing positive for dangerous levels of PFAS. (Source: Raycom Media)

    Officials are demanding that the EPA act quickly to clean up local water systems testing positive for dangerous levels of chemicals used in nonstick cookware, fast-food wrappers and much more.

    More >>

    Officials are demanding that the EPA act quickly to clean up local water systems testing positive for dangerous levels of chemicals used in nonstick cookware, fast-food wrappers and much more.

    More >>
Powered by Frankly