Baylor A&T Leads All Schools with Five NCATA Individual Event Ti - KXXV Central Texas News Now

Baylor A&T Leads All Schools with Five NCATA Individual Event Titles

Baylor acrobatics & tumbling posted five National Collegiate Acrobatics and Tumbling Association (NCATA) individual event national titles to lead all schools. The Bears claimed the seven-element acro heat, pyramid twist heat, tumbling duo heat, tumbling trio heat and tumbling aerial heat.

In the seven-element acro heat, Ceara Smith, Kiara Nowlin, Allie Steele and Kaelyn Cowan earned the win with a 9.75. The quartet’s performance marked the fourth time winning an acro event title for BU and first in the seven-element heat.

In the pyramid twist heat, Allie Alaman, Kaelyn Cowan, Jena Fisher, Lauren Sturm, Toni Bronisevsky, Madison Sorley, Meredith Aldis, Miranda Girourard, Allie Williams, Anna Webb, Ceara Smith and Bailey Hollier won with a 9.80. The group posted the program’s fourth pyramid event title and second twist heat title (2015).

In the tumbling duo heat, Lauren Sturm and Kaylee Adams scored a 9.85 for Baylor’s 12th tumbling event title and third duo title (2015, 2016).

In the tumbling trio heat, Kiara Nowlin, Mary Berdis and Elise Manning notched a 9.65 for the Bears’ 13th tumbling event title and third trio title (2013, 2015).

In the tumbling aerial heat, Kiara Nowlin registered a 9.90 to win the heat for the third straight season. She gave the program its 14th tumbling event title and fourth aerial title (2013, 2015, 2016).

Baylor’s five individual event titles rank tied for the second most in a season (2016) and were three shy of the record of eight in 2015.

The No. 2 seeded Bears take on No. 1 Oregon Saturday at 9 p.m. CT in the NCATA national championship title meet.

Powered by Frankly