Motley Named Baylor MBB’s First Consensus All-American - KXXV Central Texas News Now

Motley Named Baylor MBB’s First Consensus All-American

(Source: KXXV) (Source: KXXV)

Baylor basketball forward Johnathan Motley is on the Associated Press All-America second team, the organization announced Tuesday. With the recognition, Motley becomes Baylor’s first consensus All-America selection.

Motley joins Vinnie Johnson and Terry Teagle as the only second-team AP All-Americans in program history. Combined with six previous honorable mention AP All-America selections, the Bears have had nine AP All-Americans in program history.

A Houston native, Motley previously earned All-America second team honors from the USBWA, NABC and Sporting News. Those three organizations combine with the AP to recognize consensus All-Americans using a point system awarding three points for first-team honors, two for second-team selections and one for third-team recognition. The top five point totals are recognized on the consensus All-America first team and the next five are named consensus All-America second team.

The 2017 consensus All-America first team is comprised of Villanova’s Josh Hart, Purdue’s Caleb Swanigan, UCLA’s Lonzo Ball, Kansas’ Frank Mason and North Carolina’s Justin Jackson. The second team includes Motley, Gonzaga’s Nigel Williams-Goss, Duke’s Luke Kennard, Kentucky’s Malik Monk and Oregon’s Dillon Brooks.

Motley finished his junior season averaging 17.3 points, 9.9 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 1.1 blocks in 30.5 minutes per game. He leads the Big 12 in rebounding and double-doubles (15), ranks fourth in scoring, fifth in field goal percentage (.521), 12th in blocks and 15th in free throw percentage (.699). His numbers were even better in Big 12 play, when he ranked second in the league in scoring (18.4) and led the conference in rebounding (10.8).

Motley helped Baylor to a 27-8 record and the program’s fourth Sweet 16 appearance in the last eight seasons. The Bears were ranked No. 1 nationally for the first time in program history and earned a school-record fourth consecutive NCAA Tournament berth.



Lonzo Ball, UCLA

Josh Hart, Villanova

Justin Jackson, North Carolina

Frank Mason, Kansas

Caleb Swanigan, Purdue


Dillon Brooks, Oregon

Luke Kennard, Duke

Malik Monk, Kentucky

Johnathan Motley, Baylor

Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga

1979 – Vinnie Johnson, Second Team

1982 – Terry Teagle, Second Team

1988 – Darrly Middleton, Honorable Mention

1988 – Micheal Williams, Honorable Mention

2010 – Ekpe Udoh, Honorable Mention

2012 – Pierre Jackson, Honorable Mention

2012 – Perry Jones III, Honorable Mention

2015 – Rico Gathers, Honorable Mention

2017 – Johnathan Motley, Second Team


All-America, Second Team (consensus)

All-America, Second Team (AP)

All-America, Second Team (USBWA)

All-America, Second Team (NABC)

All-America, Second Team (Sporting News)

All-America, Second Team (NBC Sports)

All-America, Third Team (USA Today)

All-Big 12 First Team; unanimous (coaches)

All-Big 12 First Team; unanimous (AP)

District VII Player of the Year (USBWA)

All-District VII (USBWA)

All-District 8 (NABC)

Naismith Trophy Semifinalist (1 of 10)

Wooden Award National Ballot (1 of 15)

Karl Malone Award Finalist (1 of 5)

Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List (1 of 19)

Lute Olson Award Watch List

2016 Battle 4 Atlantis MVP

Big 12 Player of the Week (Jan. 23)

Big 12 Player of the Week (Jan. 9)

Big 12 Player of the Week (Nov. 28)

Powered by Frankly