Battle of the Brazos Returning to the Hardwood - KXXV-TV News Channel 25 - Central Texas News and Weather for Waco, Temple, Killeen |

College Station

Battle of the Brazos Returning to the Hardwood

 From Texas A&M Athletics Department:

Battle of the Brazos Returning to the Hardwood

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – After a two-year hiatus the Battle of the Brazos is returning to the hardwood as officials from both schools announced Wednesday that Texas A&M and Baylor had finalized a two-year, home-and-home series in men’s basketball.

The Aggies and Bears will square off at the Ferrell Center in Waco on Dec. 9, 2014, before the scene shifts to Aggieland for a meeting at Reed Arena during the 2015-16 season. A date for the contest in College Station has not yet been determined.

“I’m glad to see us renew our rivalry with Baylor,” Texas A&M head coach Billy Kennedy said. “They have been one of the top programs in the area for the last few years. It will be great for our students and our fans and I look forward to the challenge. It’s great for basketball in the state of Texas.”

The former Southwest Conference and Big 12 Conference rivals, whose home arenas are separated by 88 miles, have met 205 previous times on the basketball court as the Bears are the second-most common opponent in Texas A&M men’s basketball history.

The Aggies hold a 127-78 edge in the all-time series, which dates back to the 1914-15 season and was played annually from 1931 until 2012 when Texas A&M joined the Southeastern Conference.

Texas A&M’s 2014 non-conference schedule is shaping up to be one of the most challenging slates in recent memory. In addition to facing Baylor, the Aggies will face off against Arizona State inside Reed Arena on Dec. 6 before traveling to Kansas City’s Sprint Center on Dec. 20 for a contest against former Big 12 foe Kansas State.

The Aggies are also participating in the 2014 Puerto Rico Tip-Off which will take place in San Juan Nov. 20-23 and features defending national champion Connecticut along with Boston College, College of Charleston, Dayton, George Mason, New Mexico and West Virginia.

Powered by Frankly