Brittney Griner Repeats as USBWA Player of the Year - KXXV-TV News Channel 25 - Central Texas News and Weather for Waco, Temple, Killeen |

Brittney Griner Repeats as USBWA Player of the Year


NEW ORLEANS  — For the second straight year, Baylor senior center Brittney Griner has earned U.S. Basketball Writers Association's Ann Meyers Drysdale Player of the Year award the Association announced in New Orleans. Griner becomes just the fifth multiple winner joining Dawn Staley (Virginia), Chamique Holdsclaw and Candace Parker of Tennessee and Maya Moore (Connecticut).

Griner finished her illustrious career at Baylor setting NCAA records for blocked shots (736) and dunks by a female (18) and ranks No. 2 on the NCAA Division I women's scoring charts with 3,283 points.

The Houston, Texas, native averaged 23.8 points, 9.4 rebounds and 4.1 blocks per game this season while shooting a nation's best .607 from the floor.

Griner has been named an All-American by four entities including The Associated Press, U.S.B.W.A., Women's Basketball Association and the Wooden Award. She also earned The Associated Press' Player of the Year honors.

Powered by WorldNow

News Channel 25 KXXV-TV
P.O. Box 2522
Waco, TX 76702

Phone Numbers:
Main: 254-754-2525
Tip Line: 254-757-2525

Contact Us
KXXV Employment Opportunites
FCC Filings
Advertise on KXXV

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KXXV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.