Kim Mulkey Named a Naismith Coach of the Year Finalist - KXXV-TV News Channel 25 - Central Texas News and Weather for Waco, Temple, Killeen |

Kim Mulkey Named a Naismith Coach of the Year Finalist


From Baylor Athletic's Department:

Kim Mulkey Named a Naismith Coach of the Year Finalist   

2012 Naismith winner one of four finalists.

 WACO, Texas  – For the second straight season Baylor Lady Bear head coach Kim Mulkey is a finalist for the Naismith Women's College Coach of the Year Award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced on Thursday. Mulkey is joined by University of California coach Lindsay Gottlieb, University of Dayton coach Jim Jabir and Notre Dame's Muffet McGraw. The Naismith Women's College Coach of the Year Award will be announced during the NCAA Women's Final Four in New Orleans.

 Mulkey received the 2012 Naismith award after piloting the Lady Bears to the 2012 NCAA championship and posting a perfect 40-0 record.

 So far this season, the top-ranked Lady Bears are 32-1 and finished a perfect 18-0 in the Big 12 conference, going undefeated for the second straight season, and captured their fourth Big 12 regular season title. In addition, Baylor won a Big 12-record third straight conference tournament championship.

 In just 13 seasons as a head coach, Mulkey has attained 370 career victories and ranks No. 2 among the winningest active Division I head coaches (.822) and No. 5 all-time by percentage.

 The Lady Bears, which finished the season ranked No. 1 in the polls, are the NCAA Championships'  overall No. 1 seed and will take on Prairie View A&M in first-round action in Waco's Ferrell Center on Sunday, March 24 at 6:30 p.m.. Mulkey, who was named the Big 12 Coach of the Year, seeks to repeat as the Naismith Women's College Coach of the Year.

 The four finalists were selected by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's National Voting Academy, which based its criteria on the coaches' performances to this point in the 2013 women's college basketball season.

 "It has been another remarkable season for women's basketball and these four finalists deserve the distinction of being called the best coaches in the country," said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. "Whether we have a repeat winner or a first-timer, we look forward to adding another chapter to our award history."

Powered by WorldNow

News Channel 25 KXXV-TV
P.O. Box 2522
Waco, TX 76702

Phone Numbers:
Main: 254-754-2525
Tip Line: 254-757-2525

Contact Us
KXXV Employment Opportunites
FCC Filings
Advertise on KXXV

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KXXV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.