UMHB Set for Elite 8 Action - KXXV-TV News Channel 25 - Central Texas News and Weather for Waco, Temple, Killeen |

UMHB Set for Elite 8 Action

Posted:

From UMHB Athletic's Department:

FOLLOW UMHB MEN'S BASKETBALL IN THE NCAA QUARTERFINALS

 Salem, VA – The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor men's basketball team will make its first appearance in the NCAA Division III National Quarterfinals when the Cru faces St. Mary's College of Maryland at 1:36 PM Central Time (2:36 PM Eastern) on Friday afternoon in Salem, Virginia. The winner of that game will then advance to the Semifinals to face either St. Thomas (MN) or Williams (MA) College in a 5:00 PM Central Time (6:00 PM Eastern) tip-off on Saturday with a berth in the NCAA Division III National Championship Game on the line.

The NCAA will provide free live video streaming and live statistics for all six of this weekend's Quarterfinal and Semifinal games. You can access the video and statistics through the Interactive Division III Men's Basketball Bracket at the following link: http://www.ncaa.com/interactive-bracket/basketball-men/d3. Just click on the UMHB-St. Mary's game to find the direct links. You can also access the live video stream through the following link: www.ncaa.com/liveschedule<http://www.ncaa.com/liveschedule>.

The Cru comes into Friday's game with a 25-5 overall record and UMHB is the first men's basketball team from the state of Texas to advance to Salem. The Cru is just the third American Southwest Conference program to advance to the Division III Quarterfinals and no ASC team has ever advanced to the National Semifinals. UMHB is in the Elite Eight for the first time in the history of the program and needs just one more win to tie the school single season record for victories.

St. Mary's is 27-3 on the year and entered the postseason ranked #11 in the country in the D3hoops.com Top 25 Poll. The two teams will be meeting for the first time on Friday.

UMHB spent just over an hour practicing at the Salem Civic Center on Thursday morning and also went through a team photo shoot and brief media session. The Cru will participate in a community service project at a local after-school youth center on Thursday afternoon before closing out the night with a student-athlete banquet. Teams will also have short shoot-around practices on Friday morning before the St. Thomas-Williams game tips off at 11:00 AM Central Time (12:00 PM Eastern).

Semifinal games will be played at 5:00 PM Central Time (6:00 PM Eastern) and 7:30 PM Central Time (8:30 PM Eastern) on Saturday. The two Semifinal winners will then have two weeks off before facing off in the Division III National Championship Game on April 7th at Phillips Arena in Atlanta, Georgia.

Powered by WorldNow

News Channel 25 KXXV-TV
P.O. Box 2522
Waco, TX 76702

Phone Numbers:
Main: 254-754-2525
Tip Line: 254-757-2525

Links
Contact Us
KXXV Employment Opportunites
FCC Filings
Advertise on KXXV

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KXXV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.