Aggies Earn No. 3 Seed in NCAA Tournament - KXXV-TV News Channel 25 - Central Texas News and Weather for Waco, Temple, Killeen |

Aggies Earn No. 3 Seed in NCAA Tournament


From Texas A&M Athletic's Department:

Aggies Earn No. 3 Seed in NCAA Tournament

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - The 9th-ranked Texas A&M women's basketball team earned a No. 3 seed in its eighth consecutive NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship as the field of 64 was announced on Selection Monday.

A&M (24-9), which hosts the first and second rounds, is making its 10th all-time NCAA Tournament appearance and was one of 31 automatic bids due to winning the SEC Tournament earlier this month. A&M is one of only four teams to be selected as a No. 4 seed or higher for seven straight years (Duke, UConn and Stanford). 

The Aggies will face 14th-seeded Wichita State (24-9) in the first round of the Norfolk Regional to be held on Saturday, March 23 at 3:00 p.m. (CT). The game will be televised nationally on ESPN2. The winner will move on to the second round and meet either 6th-seeded Nebraska (23-8) or 11th-seeded Chattanooga (29-3) on Monday, March 25 at 8:30 p.m. (CT). Both games will be held at Reed Arena.

A&M was one of seven Southeastern Conference schools to dance in March along with 2nd-seeded Tennessee, 2nd-seeded Kentucky, 4th-seeded South Carolina, 4th-seeded Georgia, 6th-seeded LSU and 8th-seeded Vanderbilt. The SEC was the league with the second-most teams in the tournament, next to the Big East eight teams in the field.

The Aggies will meet Wichita State for the third time in the 39-year history of the program; A&M leads 2-0. Nebraska leads 14-9 in the all-time series, while A&M would face Chattanooga for the first time. 2013 will be the first appearance for Wichita State in the NCAA Tournament.

Fans are asked to request ticket information for the first and second rounds and for regional games through the 12th Man Foundation Ticket Center online at or by phone at 1-888-99-AGGIE.


2013 – TBA (No. 3 seed)*

2012 - NCAA Sweet 16 (No. 3 seed)

2011 - NCAA National Champion (No. 2 seed)
2010 - NCAA Second Round (No. 2 seed)*
2009 - NCAA Sweet 16 (No. 2 seed)
2008 - NCAA Elite Eight (No. 2 seed)*
2007 - NCAA Second Round (No. 4 seed)
2006 - NCAA First Round (No. 6 seed)
1996 - NCAA First Round (No. 7 seed)*
1994 - NCAA Sweet 16 (No. 13 seed)
* NCAA Automatic Bid

Powered by WorldNow

News Channel 25 KXXV-TV
P.O. Box 2522
Waco, TX 76702

Phone Numbers:
Main: 254-754-2525
Tip Line: 254-757-2525

Contact Us
KXXV Employment Opportunites
FCC Filings
Advertise on KXXV

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KXXV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.