Florence Named CoSIDA Academic All-American - KXXV-TV News Channel 25 - Central Texas News and Weather for Waco, Temple, Killeen |

Florence Named CoSIDA Academic All-American


From Baylor Athletic's Department:

Florence Named CoSIDA Academic All-American

Fifth straight season Baylor has had an Academic All-American

 TOWSON, Md. – Baylor senior quarterback Nick Florence was selected as the first-team quarterback on the 2012 Capital One Academic All-America football team, as announced by College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Thursday.

 Florence, an honorable mention All-Big 12 selection by both the Associated Press and Big 12 coaches, is the first Baylor player named a first-team Academic All-American since punter Daniel Sepulveda in 2006.

 Florence's selection marks the fifth consecutive year the Bears have had an Academic All-American, following Joe Pawelek (2008 and 2009), Derek Epperson (2010) and Robert Griffin III (2011). Combined with Sepulveda's honors in 2005 and 2006, Baylor has picked up an Academic All-America honor in seven of the last eight years.

 Baylor has had four quarterbacks named Academic All-Americans – Don Trull (1962-63), J.J. Joe (1991-93), RG3 (2011) and Florence (2012).

 A Garland, Texas, native, Florence graduated high school a semester early and finished his Baylor undergraduate degree in economics with a 3.79 GPA in only seven semesters. He's currently enrolled in graduate school, pursuing a master's in business administration.

 On the field, Florence leads the nation with an average of 387.7 yards per game of total offense. He's completed 276 of 451 passes for 4,121 yards and 31 touchdowns. Florence needs only 174 passing yards in the Bridgepoint Education Holiday Bowl to break Griffin III's school record for passing yards in a single season, and his 31 touchdowns are second-most in a season in school history, six shy of RG3's record.

 Baylor closes out the 2012 season by facing UCLA in the Holiday Bowl on Dec. 27 at San Diego's Qualcomm Stadium. The Bears will be playing in bowl game in a third straight season for the first time in program history. For more information, visit www.BaylorBears.com/bowlcentral.

 Baylor CoSIDA Academic All-America Honorees

Ronnie Bull, 1961

Don Trull, 1962

Don Trull, 1963

Tommy Turnipseede, 1974 (2nd)

Chris Quinn, 1976 (1st)

Matt Clark, 1986 (2nd)

Matt Clark, 1987 (2nd)

Mike Welch, 1989 (1st)

Mike Welch, 1990 (1st)

J.J. Joe, 1991 (2nd)

J.J. Joe, 1992 (2nd)

J.J. Joe, 1993 (2nd)

Ty Atteberry, 1996 (1st)

Daniel Sepulveda, 2005 (1st)

Daniel Sepulveda, 2006 (1st)

Joe Pawelek, 2008 (2nd)

Joe Pawelek, 2009 (2nd)

Derek Epperson, 2010 (2nd)

Robert Griffin III, 2011 (2nd)

Nick Florence, 2012 (1st)

Powered by WorldNow

News Channel 25 KXXV-TV
P.O. Box 2522
Waco, TX 76702

Phone Numbers:
Main: 254-754-2525
Tip Line: 254-757-2525

Contact Us
KXXV Employment Opportunites
FCC Filings
Advertise on KXXV

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KXXV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.