Baylor WR Williams Named Biletnikoff Award Semifinalist - KXXV-TV News Channel 25 - Central Texas News and Weather for Waco, Temple, Killeen |

Baylor WR Williams Named Biletnikoff Award Semifinalist


From Baylor Athletic's Department:

Baylor WR Williams Named Biletnikoff Award Semifinalist

Senior among 10 semifinalists for nation's top WR award

 TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Baylor senior wide receiver Terrance Williams has been chosen as one of 10 semifinalists for the 2012 Biletnikoff Award, as announced by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation on Monday.

 The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the nation's top college football receiver. Williams joins West Virginia's Tavon Austin and Stedman Bailey as receivers from the Big 12 Conference to be recognized among the semifinalists. Last season, Williams' former teammate Kendall Wright was also selected as a semifinalist for the award.

 Semifinalists were chosen in a vote from Nov. 7-11 by 190 members of the award's national selection committee.

 Williams has started all nine games for the Bears this season, amassing 1,431 receiving yards on 77 catches with 10 touchdowns. The senior's yardage total ranks second in program history and his 18.6 yards per catch are tops in the Big 12.

 Williams leads the nation in receiving yards with 159.0 yards per contest and ranks fourth with 8.6 receptions per game.

 The product of Dallas, Texas has 25 career TDs and sits just five scores away from tying Wright for Baylor's all-time receiving touchdown record.

 Williams has 12 career games, including seven of nine games this season, with at least 100 yards receiving. He tallied season-highs and program records of 17 catches and 314 yards vs. West Virginia on Sept. 29. 

 The semifinalist field will be trimmed to a group of three Biletnikoff Award Finalists with another round of voting by the national selection committee from Nov. 14-18. The three finalists will be announced on Monday, Nov. 19. The Biletnikoff Award winner will be announced live on ESPN's The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 6.

The Bears will be back in action on Saturday at 7 p.m. CT when they host No. 1 Kansas State at Floyd Casey Stadium. The game will be televised live nationally on ESPN. BU then travels to Cowboys Stadium, where the Bears will face Texas Tech at 1:30 p.m. CT on FOX on Nov. 24.


2012 Biletnikoff Award Semifinalists:

Tavon Austin, West Virginia

Stedman Bailey, West Virginia

Brandin Cooks, Oregon State

Austin Franklin, New Mexico State  

Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas   

Austin Hill, Arizona

Deandre Hopkins, Clemson

Marqise Lee, Southern California

Quinton Patton, Louisiana Tech

Terrance Williams, Baylor

Powered by WorldNow

News Channel 25 KXXV-TV
P.O. Box 2522
Waco, TX 76702

Phone Numbers:
Main: 254-754-2525
Tip Line: 254-757-2525

Contact Us
KXXV Employment Opportunites
FCC Filings
Advertise on KXXV

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KXXV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.