Griner and Sims Earn AP Honors - KXXV-TV News Channel 25 - Central Texas News and Weather for Waco, Temple, Killeen |

Griner and Sims Earn AP Honors


From Baylor Athletic's Department:

WBB - Griner and Sims Earn AP Honors

Lady Bear tandem just two of six on elite list.

WACO, Texas - Baylor's tandem of Brittney Griner and Odyssey Sims have been selected to the Associated Press' women's basketball preseason All-America team.

 Griner, a 6-8 post, became the third player to be a two-time unanimous choice, receiving all 40 votes from a national media panel. The Houston native joins former UConn star Maya Moore and Duke's Alana Beard in that select club.

 Also listed are Delaware senior Elena Delle Donne (40 votes), Notre Dame senior Skylar Diggins (40), Stanford's Chiney Ogwumike (23), Maryland's Alyssa Thomas (19) and Sims (19). It's the first time there's been a tie for the final spot.

 Griner and Sims, a 5-8 junior guard, highlight a Baylor squad that posted a historic 40-0 record en route to leading the Lady Bears to the 2012 NCAA national title. All five starters return off that team.

 Griner, last season's consensus national player of the year, averaged 23.2 points, 9.5 rebounds and a nation's-leading 5.2 blocks per game last season while Sims scored 14.9 a contest while dishing out 4.4 assists an outing.

 Only five other players have been unanimous selections; Courtney Paris (Oklahoma), Chamique Holdsclaw (Tennessee), Diana Taurasi (UConn), Seimone Augustus (LSU) and Candace Parker (Tennessee).

 Brittney Griner, Baylor, 6-8, senior, 40 votes (23.2 ppg, 9.5 rpg, 60.9 fg pct, 80.0 ft pct, 5.2 blocks)

Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame, 5-9, senior, 40 (16.8 ppg, 5.7 apg, 3.3 rpg, 50.0 fg pct, 2.6 steals)

Elena Delle Donne, Delaware, 6-5, senior 40 (28.1 ppg, 10.3 rpg, 52.0 fg pct, 88.9 ft pct, 2.6 blocks)

Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford, 6-3, junior, 23 (15.0 ppg, 10.1 rpg, 58.3 fg pct.)

Odyssey Sims, Baylor, 5-9, junior, 19 (14.9 ppg, 4.4 apg, 3.0 steals, 83.0 ft pct)

Alyssa Thomas, Maryland, 6-2, junior, 19 (17.2 ppg, 8.0 rpg, 3.2 apg, 80.0 ft pct)

 Others receiving votes (alphabetical): Jerica Coley, Florida International; Angel Goodrich, Kansas; Bria Hartley, Connecticut; Tayler Hill, Ohio State; Jordan Hooper, Nebraska; Maggie Lucas, Penn State; Kevi Luper, Oral Roberts; A'dia Mathies, Kentucky; Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, Connecticut; Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown; Elizabeth Williams, Duke.

Powered by WorldNow

News Channel 25 KXXV-TV
P.O. Box 2522
Waco, TX 76702

Phone Numbers:
Main: 254-754-2525
Tip Line: 254-757-2525

Contact Us
KXXV Employment Opportunites
FCC Filings
Advertise on KXXV

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KXXV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.