Baylor's Florence Named Campbell Trophy Finalist - KXXV-TV News Channel 25 - Central Texas News and Weather for Waco, Temple, Killeen |

Baylor's Florence Named Campbell Trophy Finalist


From Baylor Athletic's Department:

Baylor's Florence Named Campbell Trophy Finalist

Senior is third player in program history to earn NFF post-graduate scholarship

 DALLAS – Baylor senior quarterback Nick Florence has been named one of 15 finalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame announced Wednesday. He is the third player in program history to earn an NFF post-graduate scholarship.

 Florence joins Don Trull (1963) and Joe Pawelek (2009) as the only Bears to earn NFF post-graduate scholarships. The Campbell Trophy is in its 23rd year honoring college football's top scholar-athlete. Each of the 15 finalists receives an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship.

 All 15 members of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class will travel to New York City to be honored at the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 4 at the Waldorf Astoria, and the winner of the Campbell Trophy will be announced at the dinner.

 Candidates must be seniors or graduate students in their final years of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

 A Garland, Texas, native, Florence graduated with a 3.79 GPA and received a bachelor's degree in economics in December 2011, just three years after enrolling at Baylor. He is currently enrolled in graduate school, where he is pursuing a master's of business administration degree.

 Florence, a Davey O'Brien Award semifinalist, has completed 142 of 217 passes for 2,226 yards and 20 touchdowns in six games this season. He leads the nation in total offense (407.2 yards per game), ranks second nationally in passing yards (371.0 per game) and points responsibility (24.0 per game) and third in passing efficiency (172.8).

 He passed for a school-record 581 yards and a career-best five touchdowns on Sept. 29 at No. 7 West Virginia, and he rushed for two TDs and passed for two more in Saturday's game at No. 25 Texas.

 Florence is one of only two Big 12 student-athletes among the finalists, joining Texas Tech safety Cody Davis. There are four quarterbacks in the Scholar-Athlete Class – Florence, USC's Matt Barkley, Syracuse's Ryan Nassib and Duke's Sean Renfree.

 Baylor returns to action Saturday at 6 p.m. CT when it takes on Iowa State at Jack Trice Stadium in Ames, Iowa. The game will be televised live nationally on FSN. The Bears then return home to host Kansas at 2:30 p.m. on Nov. 3 in the 103rd anniversary of Baylor's first Homecoming game, and that contest will also be televised live nationally on FSN.

 2012 Campbell Trophy Finalists:

Matt Barkley, QB, USC

Rex Burkhead, RB, Nebraska

Cody Davis, S, Texas Tech

Nick Driskill, S, Mount Union (Ohio)

Nick Florence, QB, Baylor

Nabal Jefferson, DT, Northern Illinois

Barrett Jones, C, Alabama

Aaron Mullane, OL, West Texas A&M

Ryan Nassib, QB, Syracuse

Nolan Nearhoof, DE, Robert Morris

Ethan Peterson, OL, MIT

Sean Renfree, QB, Duke

Manti Te'o, LB, Notre Dame

Patrick Ward, OT, Northwestern

Shane Zackery, WR, Saint Xavier (Ill.)

Powered by WorldNow

News Channel 25 KXXV-TV
P.O. Box 2522
Waco, TX 76702

Phone Numbers:
Main: 254-754-2525
Tip Line: 254-757-2525

Contact Us
KXXV Employment Opportunites
FCC Filings
Advertise on KXXV

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KXXV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.